I used to believe in education

i-used-to-believe-in-ed

Today marks the five-year anniversary of when I dropped out of Grand Valley State University.

Looking back on it now, I’m ashamed to admit that I ever actually attended college. I blush whenever someone teases me about it. If GVSU sends me letters or postcards in the mail, I’ll go right outside to our firepit, burn them, and sprinkle the ashes into my organic tomato garden.

But as my husband, Mitchell says, I shouldn’t judge my past self because I didn’t know then what I know now. Even so, writing this post and admitting my failures requires a certain amount of vulnerability on my part. Yet I’m doing it because I know it’s important. There are so many women out there who are hurting themselves, the men they love, and their future marriages because they don’t understand the toxicity of a college education.

If you are a woman in college or are even thinking about it, please read and learn from my story. The past five years haven’t been easy, and I can only imagine how much worse they would have been if I’d stayed in school.

I came from a well-educated family. Both of my parents were physicians (I now realize that was why they got divorced when I was twelve; my mom was far too educated). My older brother Clarence was in grad school for engineering. As for me, the medical field always fascinated me. I wanted to be a nurse.

It wasn’t an easy path, though. My science classes were rigorous, and sometimes I didn’t do well on tests. I studied late into the night, downing coffee after coffee to stay awake. I sacrificed relationships with friends, and, even worse, I did virtually no husband-searching. I didn’t want to admit it to myself—the stakes were too high—but I was unhappy.

Then I discovered the WAE. I was a sophmore at the time. The organization intrigued me; I’d never once thought of education as detrimental to society or myself. But it made so much sense. I quickly got on board, dropped out of GVSU, and attended each of the WAE’s seminars (in addition to following their website religiously!). Thanks to them, I met and married Mitchell within three months of attending my last Human Anatomy class.

However, I didn’t escape higher education soon enough. My first year of marriage exposed the scars. Mitchell and I fought a lot, and it was my fault each time. I foolishly believed that I was just as intelligent as him, though my sex proved otherwise. I got bored at home, cooking and cleaning for him. I resisted when he enacted his husbandly duties to discipline me. More than once I considered enrolling at GVSU again.

But thanks to time, my husband’s patience, and the WAE, I got through the difficult year and gave birth to a beautiful baby girl (who wants to be just like mommy when she grows up!). Now, rather than fighting my husband, I obey and submit to him. I recognize that my vagina makes me inferior to him. I let him beat me when I talk back or don’t get him a beer as soon as he asks for it. And I have three beautiful children whom I absolutely adore—and I can’t wait to bring even more into the world!

So if you are a young woman who’s considering higher education, hear my story. Don’t do it. If you’re a young woman who’s in college, you still have a chance to get out.

I no longer believe in education. Neither should you.

Submitted by Maggie MacGee

Leave a Reply

